Now is the Time. Memphis is the Place.

Free Music Alert: Levitt Shell Music Concert 2019 Lineup Announced

Photo: Jeff Riddle

Making a comeback for it’s 11th year in a row, the free  Orion Music Concert Series at the Levitt Shell is bringing together families, friends, food, and local and traveling musicians, all in the spirit of good vibes and good times.

With the summer season running from May 30th through July 21st and the fall season going from August 31 through October 30th, the 100+ free concert series will be in full swing, showcasing a variety of talented acts with sounds ranging from R&B and soul to folk, Americana, and more. That’s only half of it! There are also new features, such as a selection of lifestyle merch offered at the ShellShop, more food and beverage options in the ShellEats area, and multiple opportunities for community engagement. 

  • Where: Levitt Shell (1928 Poplar Ave.)
  • Time: All shows begin at 7:30PM
  • Cost: 100% free (ticketed shows excluded)

Photo: Levitt Shell

Summer Lineup:

  • Thursday, May 30 — North Mississippi Allstars
  • Friday, May 31 — Revel in Dimes
  • Saturday, June 1 — River Whyless
  • Sunday, June 2 — Talibah Safiyah & Beale Street Flippers
  • Thursday, June 6 — Sam Lewis
  • Friday, June 7 — The Commonheart
  • Saturday, June 8 — Freddie McGregor
  • Sunday, June 9 — BoDeans
  • Thursday, June 13 — OSOG
  • Saturday, June 15 — Jenny & The Mexicats
  • Sunday, June 16 — Bluff City Backsliders Anniversary Show
  • Thursday, June 20 — Hayes Carll
  • Friday, June 21 Nicole Atkins
  • Saturday, June 22 — Ekpe & the African Jazz Ensemble
  • Sunday, June 23 — Los Colognes
  • Thursday, June 27 — Patriotic Pops
  • Friday, June 28 — Flor De Toloache
  • Saturday, June 29  — Stax Music Academy
  • Sunday, June 30 — Donna the Buffalo
  • Thursday, July 4 No Show (Holiday)
  • Friday, July 5 — Walden
  • Saturday, July 6 — Orquesta Akokan
  • Sunday, July 7 — The Petersen Brothers
  • Thursday, July 11 — Israel Nash
  • Friday, July 12 — The Marias
  • Saturday, July 13 — John Paul White
  • Sunday, July 14 — Los Coast
  • Thursday, July 18 — Black Joe Lewis
  • Friday, July 19 — New Breed Brass Band
  • Saturday, July 20 — The Slackers
  • Sunday, July 21 — Devon Gilfillian

Fall Lineup: 

  • Saturday, August 31 — Stone Soul Picnic
  • Sunday, September 12 —  Rob Baird
  • Friday, September 13 — Opera Memphis
  • Saturday, September 14 — The Dip
  • Sunday, September 15 — The Wealthy West
  • Thursday, September 19 — Los Colognes
  • Friday, September 20 — Jack Oblivian and Some Sheiks
  • Saturday, September 21 — Sam Lewis
  • Sunday, September 22 — Aztec Sun
  • Thursday, September 26 — Yola Carter
  • Friday, September 27 — The War & Treaty
  • Saturday, September 28 — Rhodes College Night
  • Sunday, September 29 — Rudi Scheidt School of Music
  • Thursday, October 3 — Trout Steak Festival
  • Saturday, October 5 — Daz Rinko
  • Sunday, October 6 — Boulevard
  • Thursday, October 10 — Red Baraat
  • Friday, October 11 — Reverend Horton Heat
  • Saturday, October 12 — Family Show TBA
  • Sunday, October 13 — Madisen Ward and The Mama Bear

We wouldn’t be able to enjoy all of these concerts without the incredible fundraising efforts from the Levitt Shell. I mean, 50 free shows is a lot and I know we’re all grateful. This year’s series will include two ticketed “Shell Yeah!” fundraising concerts with all proceeds going back towards providing more free music experiences for all to enjoy!

  • Friday, June 14 — Shell, YEAH! Robert Randolph & The Family band (ticketed show)
  • September 6th — Shell, YEAH! Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit (ticketed show)
  • Friday, October 4 — Shell, YEAH! Ben Folds (ticketed show)

Learn more about the performers and the schedule here.

Follow Levitt Shell on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for show updates.

If you can’t attend a show but want to support, shell out a few bucks for a donation here or check out the variety of volunteer opportunities.

Facebook Comments