Now is the Time. Memphis is the Place.

Home Blog Memphis Events

Memphis Events

Photo: @mikekerrmemphisphoto

It’s January which means it’s time to celebrate National Mentoring Month, get those New Year’s resolutions nailed down, plan your MLK Day of service, and plan your month of Memphis events. Whether you’re in person or enjoying virtual happenings, Memphis still has lots of things to do!

Virtual and At-Home Things to Do For Adults (Available Anytime):

  • We are Memphis presents Virtual Soul Live, a collection of videos for you to interact with. You can take a fitness or sip ‘n paint class, meet some local poets, join an Indie watch party, and more.
  • While visiting a graveyard may not usually sound like fun, Memphis’ Elmwood Cemetery is not your average cemetery. It is filled with monuments and stories that tell the early history of Memphis and is one of the most beautiful places in the city. Take a self-guided digital audio tour by downloading the audio on your smartphone.
  • If you’re up for planning a game night for you and your roomies, Memphis Escape Rooms has boxed up games that can be dropped off right at your door, virtual escape rooms that you can play from the comfort of your couch, and print and play games that’ll have you turning your home into an escape house. 

Virtual and At-Home Things to Do For Kids (Available Anytime):

  • Pink Palace Museum of Science and History has curated Museum to Go, a collection of virtual and hands-on programming you can participate in from home. It includes:
    • Pick up a Memphis Explorers Challenge Kit that include multiple activities and experiments at the Museum Store for $15. Choices include Fun With Physical Science, Sustainability Challenge, Constellations Challenge, and Nature Challenge. These are great for school age students and kit themes are updated regularly.
    • Take digital tours with the Lichterman Nature Center and learn about different species of animals.
    • Download one of their activities to do at home and learn about the Earth.
  • While visiting a graveyard may not usually sound like fun, Memphis’ Elmwood Cemetery is not your average cemetery. It is filled with monuments and stories that tell the early history of Memphis and is one of the most beautiful places in the city.
  • The beloved Memphis Zoo has virtual zoo programs that any kid would love.
  • Memphis Escape Rooms has boxed up games that can be dropped off right at your door, virtual escape rooms that you can play from the comfort of your couch, and print and play games that are appropriate for families with kids. 
  • The National Civil Rights Museum has several at-home options for virtual learning. Students can experience the Montgomery Bus Boycott and learn about the sit-ins of the 60s.

Thursday, January 14

Friday, January 15

Saturday, January 16

Sunday, January 17

Monday, January 18

Tuesday, January 19

Wednesday, January 20

Thursday, January 21

Friday, January 22

Saturday, January 23

Sunday, January 24

Monday, January 25

Tuesday, January 26

Wednesday, January 27

Thursday, January 28

Friday, January 29

Saturday, January 30

Sunday, January 31


Friday, January 1

Saturday, January 2

Sunday, January 3

Monday, January 4

Tuesday, January 5

Wednesday, January 6

Thursday, January 7

Friday, January 8

Saturday, January 9

Sunday, January 10

Monday, January 11

Tuesday, January 12

Wednesday, January 13